Sokoto RATTAWU kicks against leadership selection

Written by on June 5, 2017

The Sokoto State chapter of Radio, Television, Theatre and Arts Workers Union of Nigeria (RATTAWU) has kicked against the re-constitution of a caretaker committee to steer its leadership in the state.

The members drawn from chapters of Rima Radio, Rima Television and Nigeria Television Authority (NTA), in a statement, said they stood by an earlier congress resolution which resulted to the appointment of Umar Ibrahim from Rima Radio as caretaker chairman with Sahihu Dauda Ngaski and Kasimu Muhammad as members.

The statement was signed by their chairmen, Sada Sidi (Rima Radio), Kabiru Aminu (Rima Tv) and Isah Muh’d (NTA).

It equally rejected the appointment of Malami Umar Torankawa by the national leadership as caretaker chairman of RATTAWU in the state.

According to the statement, “In view of the above the RATTAWU chapter s of Sokoto State which comprises of NTA Sokoto, RTV Sokoto and Rima Radio chapters are hereby denouncing and dissociating ourselves from the new report that imposed Malami Umar Torankawa as caretaker chairman of RATTAWU Sokoto State.

“As far as we are concerned the only constitutional and legal caretaker chairman is Umar Ibrahim who was appointed during state delegate congress on 16th March, 2017,” the statement reads.

The union however called on the its national body to look into the issue and way of solving it amicably, for the interest of peace among members in the state.

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

[There are no radio stations in the database]